On the Menu

I find it odd that this is our last weekend in September.  We have had record breaking highs in the 90s for a few days now, and before that our highs were in the 80s.  Shouldn’t it be fall/winter and snowing by now!?!  Trust me when I say that I’m not complaining about the heat; however, the mosquito infestation that has come along with it is killing us.  I swear when I run out to grab some produce out of the garden I risk getting West Nile!  Ok, maybe I’m exaggerating on that one, but our poor furbutts get covered in mosquitos each time they go outside.

How is your fall going?  Any heat waves in the other states?

On to this weeks menu.  This week/weekend I’ve picked easy-to-put-together meals that I know my family will love.  I’ve linked each recipe title and picture to the blog/website it came from.  Happy Cooking!!

Saturday: Slow Cooker Chicken Parmigiana Sandwiches

Slow-Cooker-Chicken-Parmigiana-Sandwiches-Recipe[1]

New Pin!! Cat Davis at Food, Family, and Finds is a GENIOUS for coming up with this recipe.  I can’t believe we have never thought to try something like this in our home before.  When I told my husband this our dinner tonight, I swear I saw him start to drool.  I’m thinking about using one of my frozen Parmesan cheese rinds in the crock pot with the chicken to give it an extra boost in flavor and maybe dice up some mini bell peppers too.

**Recipe Changes** I added 6 chicken breasts, 1 Tbs of sugar, 1 tsp of fresh rosemary, and a rind of parmesan.  I’m thinking about adding fresh thyme next time.

Monday:  Grilled Fish on Pineapple Bark

My husband and son have been fishing nonstop, and they have brought home a ton of fish to cook up.  I love the idea of infusing pineapple flavor into the fish.  I’m going to make a glaze using soy sauce, brown sugar, sriracha sauce and reduce it on the stove.  Then, you can brush the glaze on the fish once it is finished.  Check out Make the Best of Everything for this recipe and more!

Wednesday:  Rachael Ray’s Super Scampi

Super Scampi

This recipe comes out of Rachel Ray’s Look and Cook Book, and I HIGHLY recommend you add this book to your collection.  She has so many wonderful, healthy, and clean recipes for you to choose from.  Plus my son loves the recipes in the book too.  You’ll love this recipe for the fact that it only uses 1 pot to cook everything, and is easy for even the beginner cook to put together, and will feed a good amount of people.  Food Network has kindly posted this recipe on their website too, so click here to check it out.

Friday:  Grilled Thai Spice Chicken Sliders

Grilled Thai Spice Chicken Sliders with Sriracha Mayo | FamilyFreshCooking.com #FathersDay #July4th

New Pin!!  I love anything relating to Thai food, and when I found this recipe I started drooling immediately.  I’ve made several recipes from Family Fresh Cooking, so I know I will love these sliders!  I’m making Sweet Potato French Fries with Smoked Gouda and Black Beans as a side.  I’m cheating and using frozen organic sweet potato French fries for this recipe to cut back on meal prep time.

Leave a comment